## SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following 14 Additional Judges of the Bombay High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1 Mr. Justice Sandeep K. Shinde
- 2 Mr. Justice Rohit Baban Deo
- 3 Mrs. Justice Bharati H. Dangre
- 4 Mr. Justice Sarang V. Kotwal
- 5 Mr. Justice Riyaz I. Chagla
- 6 Mr. Justice Manish Pitale
- 7 Mr. Justice S.K. Kotwal
- 8 Mr. Justice A.D. Upadhye
- 9 Mr. Justice Mangesh S. Patil
- 10 Mr. Justice A.M. Dhavale
- 11 Mr. Justice P.K. Chavan
- 12 Mr. Justice M.G. Giratkar
- 13 Mrs. Justice V.V. Kankanwadi
- 14 Mr. Justice S.M. Gavhane

The Collegium of the Bombay High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 7<sup>th</sup> December, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court. The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Governments of both the States of Maharashtra & Goa.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Bombay High Court. Copies of letters of their opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26<sup>th</sup> October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the same is placed below.

With a view to assess merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for appointment as Permanent Judges, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record, including the complaints against some of the abovenamed recommendees and the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file. Having regard to the above, the Collegium finds Mr. Justices (1) Sandeep K. Shinde, (2) Rohit Baban Deo, (3) Mrs.

Bharati H. Dangre, (4) Sarang V. Kotwal, (5) Riyaz I. Chagla, (6) Manish Pitale, (7) S.K. Kotwal, (8) A.D. Upadhye, (9) Mangesh S. Patil, (10) A.M. Dhavale, (11) P.K. Chavan (12) M.G. Giratkar (13) Mrs.V.V. Kankanwadi and (14) S.M. Gavhane, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Sandeep K. Shinde, (2) Rohit Baban Deo, (3) Mrs. Bharati H. Dangre, (4) Sarang V. Kotwal, (5) Riyaz I. Chagla, (6) Manish Pitale, (7) S.K. Kotwal, (8) A.D. Upadhye, (9) Mangesh S. Patil, (10) A.M. Dhavale, (11) P.K. Chavan (12) M.G. Giratkar (13) Mrs.V.V. Kankanwadi and (14) S.M. Gavhane, Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Bombay High Court.



(S.A.Bobde), J.

(N.V. Ramana), J.

March 11, 2019.